Patty Cassidy

Hi, my name is Patty Cassidy, and I’m happy to be sharing my infertility and open adoption experience with you.

I’ve been married to my husband Jim for almost 20 years, and we have 3 sons, Ryan (13 yrs), Joel (8 yrs) and Chad (4 yrs). We were fortunate to find an infertility doctor who specializes in an infertility treatment known as Intracytoplasmic sperm injection, or ICSI as it is commonly referred to. This was the answer to our prayers, but it took many long years to reach.

I’m excited that Marti and I were asked to participate in this blog, because I think it will help others who are unsure of the next step in their pursuit of a family. It can be scary at times, and although family and friends say they “understand what you are going through”, I don’t think they really do. How could they, unless they have had a similar experience? I know they mean well, but sometimes it isn’t enough.

I can remember when my husband Jim and I first found out we would have to have infertility treatments. He had been diagnosed with testicular cancer, so the infertility issue took a backseat. It wasn’t until a few years after his operations and chemo treatments that we addressed this new wrinkle. We didn’t know a soul who had experienced this, but as I started to talk about it, I found out that many had, only they weren’t open about it.

As we (rather I) underwent treatment, I would often times wish there was somewhere to turn to for guidance and support. Maybe at the time there was, but I never found it. I hope this blog will be that somewhere to turn.

Patty Cassidy

Leave a Reply

