FROM PATTY, FEB. 22

As I blogged earlier, we really didn’t know anyone who was dealing with infertility issues, at least not openly, which made it hard for us to find resources.  At the time, I was working in a library, and spent a lot of time searching the database for reading material to educate us and find inspiration.  This was in the early part of the 1990’s, which I know is only roughly 20 years ago, but the material in print, especially the stories of real life couples, sometimes seemed outdated.  It would be from the mid 1980’s, but advances were being made so quickly, that the previous treatments now seemed outdated.

I can remember reading of a couple traveling to Norfolk, VA for their treatments.  They would spend approximately 2 months per cycle there, and the story went in great detail of their treatment, but more importantly for me, how they felt, what they were thinking and how they coped.  This couple had a happy ending of twins.

I felt overwhelmed enough with the whole infertility issue, and didn’t really spend a lot of time searching for information on the internet.  I’ve always been a bit of a bookworm, and still prefer getting my information in print, on actual paper that is.  Ask my husband about this; he purchased a Kindle for me as a Christmas gift, and he is using it.  I have yet to read anything on it.

Leave a Reply

