QUALITY TIME

We had the best time today. After everyone was up and ready for the day, we decided we would spend this beautiful spring day (temps in the high 60s/low 70s) on an outing. Julian loves trains, and I had thought we would head to the shore to see the trains in Essex. They have a train station where you can ride the rails, as well as a train museum where you can see models chugging along the tracks. The center of town has a quaint New England feel to it, and we thought it would be a great way to spend the day, until we saw the trains aren’t in operation until mid May. On to Plan B.

Since we make quite the crowd, (9 in total), it was decided that Marti & I would take the twins to Deerfield, MA to the Yankee Candle Factory flagship store where they have model trains running throughout a Christmas village, while Brian & Jim would take my boys to the Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, MA, because it is a well known fact that Brian loves basketball. I know it sounds strange that we spent the day apart, but for Jim to suggest he spend the day with Brian alone (i.e. without Marti & I), was a big deal. For those who don’t know, Jim was worried about staying in the same hotel as the Baileys for our first visit because he only knew of the Baileys from what I shared, while Marti & I knew a lot about each other because we would email each other on a regular basis. Jim has come a long way by welcoming them into our home, and suggesting they spend quality time together without us.

While we were en route, Marti & I saw signs for Magic Wings, which is an indoor garden that has butterflies flying freely among visitors. It is quite a unique experience, and we decided to take the twins there before our visit to the candle store. We all loved it, and after a bite to eat we met up with the others at Yankee Candle. After Marti & I bought half the store, we all headed for dinner at Cracker Barrel. Over dinner we shared the day’s events with each other as a family does, and we all had had a wonderful time. Marti & I had lots of time to talk to each other, despite the fact that I didn’t get lost today, and I’m sure the same can be said for Brian & Jim. They are very much alike, and unless you know our story, you would think they had been friends for a long time.

Tomorrow our family will meet the Baileys, for which everyone is excited. We see many of our sons’ personality traits in Natalie, and especially in Julian, for he physically resembles the boys, more so than Natalie. I had told Marti I thought Natalie looked a little like someone in my family physically, but her personality reminds me of my niece Maggie when she was a toddler. It will be interesting to see what everyone else sees. As the heroine of my favorite movie (Gone with the Wind) says, tomorrow is another day. Here’s looking forward to another great one.

Leave a Reply

