HAPPY ENDINGS

It has been absolutely beautiful weather now that the 2 day Nor’easter has passed through New England and we are beginning to dry out with the sun’s help. I’m getting a late start on my Easter baking because of this, and I decided to wait until evening so I could enjoy the day outside. As I was searching for my recipe for the Éclair cake Marti is now famous for, I came across a magazine article she left for me while she was here about embryo donation. It is from the February 2010 American Family Association entitled “Embryo donation: A New Way to Choose Life.” The article is informative and well written. The real reason it made an impression on me is that Marti & Brian had already chosen to go this route, yet were still not having any luck. They were just starting to rethink their decision after this most recent loss when Jim and I were finalizing our donation. It took me over a year to complete all the paperwork and the necessary testing, not because it was lengthy, but because I was unsure of how this would turn out. Would I regret this later? I find it ironic that Marti receives the news of our donation on her birthday. Marti and I have talked about the many coincidences that bind us, and this is just one of them. The more we talk the more we seem to discover. Another recent one I found and haven’t mentioned to her yet is her mother and my sister (who now acts like everyone’s mother) share the same birthday. It wasn’t until I was reading the obituary for Marti’s mother that I saw this. When I told my sister this, she said she would be happy to include Marti in her “mothering,” for Marti had won hers as well as everyone else’s hearts during her visit.

Today is Natalie & Julian’s second birthday, and it never ceases to amaze me how these two miracles have touched so many lives. Marti, Brian, Jim and I have all known the heartache and joys that have brought us to this point in our lives, and seeing how much joy has come of it makes it all worthwhile. Their births have connected not only our lives but the lives of our families in such a way that none of us could have imagined.

I mention my Easter desserts because I decided to blog while I was waiting for my ricotta cake to bake (it takes 1 1/2 hours). I decided to make this despite the fact that it is getting late, because I made an Éclair cake, but mine doesn’t look anywhere near as good as Marti’s, so I’m hoping the ricotta cake is going to be my ace in the hole. Wouldn’t it be just my luck that she would usurp me as being the baker in the family? If that happens, next time she will make the glaze for the ham!

As for having regrets about our decision to donate embryos, my only one is that I waited so long. I wish I had known sooner, but would Fate have crossed our paths in the same manner? I’m just thankful for the happy ending.

One thought on “HAPPY ENDINGS

  1. My husband and I donated our embryos to a couple and a month ago they had a baby. Was it ever hard for you in the begining seeing the babies?

Leave a Reply

