THE SLEEP MIRACLE

We experienced a miracle in the Wilson house last night…almost 7 hours of uninterrupted sleep! I know…crazy, right? Before we went to bed, I was concerned about how the morning would go since I needed to go to Lexington for work, which meant a 6:30 a.m. departure time. I thought I might end up being gone before they woke up for first breakfast, which I didn’t like. They ate like they normally do in the 9:30 to 10:00 time frame and were sleeping by about 10:15. I went to bed shortly thereafter and set my alarm for 5:30, which was quite depressing, especially since they had been waking between 3:30 and 4:00. Just the thought of only an additional hour or so of sleep after that made me tired. Around 5:00, I rolled over and realized what time it was. I reached out and put my hand on each baby to ensure that they were indeed breathing…yes, they were breathing. Could it really be? I checked Jeremy’s clock to make sure. Yes, it really was. Grant was starting to stir, so I quickly moved them into the nursery to get them changed to allow Jeremy to continue his sleep. We nursed and I got ready to leave. Mom had previously agreed to come over to help me get out the door so Jeremy could sleep a little later. She was impressed with my sleep report, but I warned that I had no idea what this would mean for the rest of the day. I kissed the babies and headed down I-64.

Around 8:00 I got a call from Jeremy asking what had just happened. Did we feed them in the middle of the night and he slept through it? (He has a history of sleep walking and talking with absolutely no memory of the event.) No, we all slept! Yeah for sanity…but hello engorgement! So, while the sleep was great, my body disagreed and has responded with a nicely plugged milk duct. This isn’t exactly comfortable. But, I can live with it and will get through it. It’s just another part of the adventure!

Leave a Reply

