ON THE BEACH

A few days before our beach trip I went on a women’s ministry retreat with my church. The women who teach children’s church or Sunday school have a get away for fellowship and a small Bible study. We went to the mountains for the weekend. I ate so much junk food that I just knew I would not be able to fit into any of my clothes for the beach! I had to leave early so that we could leave the next morning for the beach. Brian wanted me home to make sure that he loaded the car correctly.

I got home that night and loaded the car and then could not sleep since I had had two glasses of sweet tea (with caffeine) and I never drink caffeine! What was I thinking? I texted my sister and my sister-in-law, who was still on the church retreat. Of course they were asleep at 2am and did not text back. So I laid in bed with anticipation of our beach trip!

That morning we got up and everything went great, we were on the road by 8:30am. We only made one stop to let the children run and play while we ate lunch. The children fussed at times, but overall I thought they did fine. At 3:30pm we met Brian’s parents at the condo and unpacked. Then we decided we would venture out to eat seafood. As we were walking out the door I asked Brian’s Mom if she had her book. That is one thing I have learned from her, always have a book handy, because you never know when the boys will want to stop to play a few holes! She got her book and we were off. After dinner we went for a walk on the beach and took a few pictures. The children referred to the beach as a “sand box” and wanted to be held the whole time.

After our walk Brian’s parents and I went to the grocery store while Brian went back to the condo to take the kids to the pool. As Barbara and I were picking out our food I got a call from Brian. I was sure he needed help deciding which suit to put on the babies, but no; to my surprise he was calling because he had run out of gas! He was stranded at another grocery store, which he was lucky to have been able to pull into; however, he did not know where he was. His Dad went off to get him gas and try and find him. That left his Mom and I at the store. This would not have been a big deal, but our books were in the car! We could only shop for food for so long. It took his Dad a while to try and find him, because no one could seem to tell him exactly where he was. His Dad could not figure out how he ended up in that part of Myrtle Beach when he was just trying to get gas. Why would he even let it get that low? I will not tell you how many times this has happened to Brian, but this is the first time with the kids. We finally got home and changed and headed to the pool and lazy river. Unfortunately, the lazy river was closed as well as the hot tub until the next day. What a start to our vacation, but we were all there in one piece!

One thought on “ON THE BEACH

  1. Marti,

    That sounds like a day in my life! Jim does the same thing with his gas. He will drive all the way from our house to work (which is three times the distance to hospital) with the gas light on.

    I had to laugh about the book, I bring my knitting or cross stitch for the same reason, except with Jim instead of it being golf it is taking a ride by something to check it out.

    Enjoy the rest of your vacation and don’t get sand from the “sand box” in your books,

    Patty

Leave a Reply

