LIVES WITH POTENTIAL

Yesterday a judge temporarily blocked the federal funding of embryonic stem cell research stating it violated law because it involved the destruction of human embryos. Of course, this brings up lots of debate and discussion on television and in the news. Being that this is near and dear to my heart, I started reading and made the mistake of reading some of the comments. Quickly these digressed into a religious debate. This is not a religious issue. It’s a life issue. Yes, I’m a Christian and part of my Christian faith honors life at all stages, but when this issue becomes a religious one, it takes the focus off these tiny lives that are at stake. As I sat on the couch last night holding Grant and Maria, one pundit stated that if these embryos are not used for research they will all go to waste. The thought made me sick and made me more fervent about sharing about embryo adoption. Embryonic stem cells have not shown the promise that is touted in the news. Yet, adult stem cells have been successful in treating disease and it doesn’t get nearly the same attention that embryonic stem cell research gets. The only hope I have is that this judge’s decision will open the door for more people to learn that research and death isn’t the only option for frozen embryos. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again….frozen embryos are not potential lives, but lives with potential.

Leave a Reply

