REMEMBERING 9.11

Nine years ago I was a 21-year-old college senior.  As most people who were adults at the time, I remember very clearly where I was on 9/11.  I was putting on eye makeup and listening to the Today Show when I heard Katie Couric’s first report of a plane or helicopter crashing into the World Trade Center.  I finished getting ready for class and turned on the TV downstairs where my mom and I watched in horror as the second plane hit.  Neither one of us verbalized it, but we both wondered about my brother.  The plane we saw looked much too big to be the Continental commuter jet he was flying at the time, but still…we wondered.  Nick flew the east coast regularly and the first report that my dad heard was that it was a Continental plane.  It would be several hours before we heard from Nick.  He was safe and sound in his hotel in White Plains, NY.  He had slept through the whole thing.   By the time I went to class and returned home for lunch, both towers had fallen, the Pentagon had been hit and United 93 had gone down in Pennsylvania.  I went to work and we cancelled our second shift operations.  It seemed that everything just stopped that day.  I remember trying to get gas on my way home and all the gas stations were clogged up as people rushed there in fear, not knowing what was going to happen.  My mom and I went to a prayer service at our church that evening and held hands with perfect strangers.  We cried and prayed and wondered.  That night was eerily quiet.  The sky was silent as all planes sat grounded and thousands of families feared the worst about their loved ones who were innocent victims that morning.

9/11/01 is etched in my memory, but so is 9/11/09.  We were only 6 days from our embryo transfer and I went to get an ultrasound and blood drawn.  I waited to hear from Dr. Keenan’s office to get clearance to begin my progesterone injections on the 14th.  That afternoon, the office called and confirmed what the ultrasound tech told me, which was that the Estrace was doing its job.  Not only could I cry at the drop of a hat, my uterine lining was thickening nicely and I could start my injections.

This year on 9/11, I’m praying for our country and the families of all those who lost their lives.  For a short time, America banded together with resolve to never let something like those terror attacks happen again.  Nine years later, it seems the nation is more divided than ever.  I’m also praying for the couples who are preparing for their embryo transfers.  May God prepare their minds and hearts to face whatever the future holds.  Finally, I’m praying for Dr. Keenan and the NEDC staff.  May they have wisdom, strength, and endurance as they continue to advocate for the tiniest among us.

2 thoughts on “REMEMBERING 9.11

Leave a Reply

