THE BROKENHEARTED

On Thursday nights I attend Sheltering Tree Fertility Support Group Bible study. We are studying Stepping Up by Beth Moore. One of the topics was about being real which the group discussed in detail.

I shared how hard it was for me at times to attend church and see all the families with their beautiful children that I so wanted as well. One lady shared that even though she now has two children, she still does not attend church on Mother’s Day; it is just too painful. Then another woman shared that she had written a note to her pastor to let him know to include those who had lost children as well as Mother’s whose children are still here on earth.

I thought that was a great idea and that as infertile women we should educate others on how painful and left out we can feel even at church. This is why it is important for those who have been on the infertility journey and are on the other side to speak up and let people know they are not alone. Going through infertility can also make one feel distant from God, but I would like for people to take the challenge to hold on tight to his word during such a difficult time.

This week in my Bible study the following passage came up and then again in church, so I thought it was fitting that I share it with you as well. “The LORD hears his people when they call to him for help. He rescues them from all their troubles. The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those who are crushed in spirit. The righteous face many troubles, but the LORD rescues them from each and every one.” Psalm 34:17-19 (NLT). And since October is the Campaign for Healthier Babies Month, I think it is important to remember all the babies who were lost, especially our own!

Leave a comment