BLESSED

This Thanksgiving we have so much to be thankful for and I am reminded of that every day when I look into Julian and Natalie’s eyes. At church yesterday, I had two different women say to me, so you are the mother of the twins that we prayed and prayed for and I replied YES! It is such a miracle that from week 15 of my pregnancy, when I had started bleeding and was put on restricted bed rest, that I had so many people praying for my twins to live. Even though 15 weeks later is a much better time for them to be born, 30 weeks is still too early. It is a blessing from God that they only had to stay in the NICU for 46 days and did not have to come home with tubes and monitors, but most of all that they are healthy toddlers without any medical issues.

What a blessing our church was during such a difficult time. People started bringing food for us from the time my bed rest started and through many weeks when they got home. Now that was a long time! It was such a stressful time, not knowing if your children are going to live or not, so knowing that our meals were provided was such a blessing. God provided for us through our church family and now I pray that I can be a blessing to others as they were to me and my family.

My mother always told me what a blessing I was to her and that gives me joy knowing that I brought her some happiness through her last six years of struggling with cancer. I have to say, that nothing brought her greater joy than all her grandchildren. My twins were the last of her eight and they were the last ones she saw before she died. On the second to her last day here on earth, she opened her eyes (she was not doing much of that by then) and saw the twins. She exclaimed, “Babies, babies!” with such delight I will never forget. The Bible tells us that family is a blessing. Even though my father and mother are not here with me now, I am so incredibly blessed to have them in my heart as well as the rest of my family here on earth!

Leave a Reply

