ONE OF THE BEST GIFTS OF THE SEASON

I have to say that as I prepare for Christmas, I tend to reflect on what has happened over the past year. This one has been a trying one for many I know, and although we had some downs, we fared it pretty well. I can think of many Christmases past that were difficult, because we were either struggling with infertility or a recent loss. The Christmas season wasn’t very joyous then, it tended to be something to be endured. When you are experiencing infertility, sometimes it is hard to put it aside and live in the present moment. I felt it consumed my thoughts at times, as well as my life.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the Baileys over the course of the past week as we have talked a few times to make plans for our upcoming trip together. I was lucky enough to have called when Natalie and Julian had decided they weren’t napping that afternoon, and could talk to them. I use the term “talk” loosely, because I usually do most of the talking. But they both answered questions this time and responded when I spoke to them. I think the part I like best when I talk with them is when they sing a song. Natalie sang “Twinkle, twinkle” and Julian sang “Happy Birthday Jesus.” They both were very cute.

Recently some things have happened at work that remind me how fortunate those who succeed with their infertility issues are. I hope they never loss sight of that fact, and remember those that are less fortunate. Sometimes the gift that is most sought after is the hardest to obtain.

One thought on “ONE OF THE BEST GIFTS OF THE SEASON

Leave a Reply

