TODAY’S SOAP BOX

There was a conversation at work this morning about babies and I was asked if we were going to have any more. I replied that Jeremy says we’re done, and while I’m slowly coming to that conclusion, who really knows at this point? A co-worker commented that if we did try again, there is the chance of more multiples, to which I replied, yes and that would be one reason why we wouldn’t go through the process again. “Isn’t there a way to reduce if that happened?” was the question that followed. She followed up by recognizing that it isn’t something I would ever consider, which at least they know me well enough to know I could never intentionally stop the beating heart of one of my children, but I can’t believe it’s even something that would be suggested so cavalierly. The thought makes me sick. With assisted reproductive technologies (ART) comes certain known risks, and one of those is multiple babies. Why would someone go through the process to create life only to intentionally destroy it? People try to justify it by saying it could save the lives of the other babies or the mother, but it’s something I could never justify. A multiple pregnancy isn’t easy, but no one ever said it’s supposed to be. If you don’t want to be faced with the risks of ART, then choose another method of having children. Or better yet, if you want a life that is easy and without complications don’t have children at all.

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” (Psalm 139:13-16)

One thought on “TODAY’S SOAP BOX

Leave a Reply

