PUTTING ON YOUR ARMOR

This past weekend has been full of weddings. Friday morning the twins and I sat and watched the highlights of the Royal wedding. I could not believe the twins watched it, but Julian was impressed when the Royal couple rode around in a “race” car. Natalie likes princesses, so I stressed that this was a real princess, even though she does not officially get that title. In my opinion that is a farce!

Saturday dad played golf with his Dad and twin while the twins and I stayed home getting ready for the wedding on Sunday, to which we were actually invited. I had planned for us all to be matching in our lime green outfits, but then I tried on my dress and realized it was way too big. I wanted to wear it, but there was no way I could pull it off. After seeing the Royal wedding I really wanted a hat, but I did not have one of those either.

When the kids and I went to a yard sale (my friend Cathy is raising money for her mission trip to Africa), we found many wonderful items, such as beautiful china Snow White doll and a Handy Manny talking doll, but no dress for Mommy. When Brian got home that night I did decided to run out and see if I could find a dress and I did, but it was not lime green.

The next morning I got up and ironed our outfits and then we were off to church which got us in the spirit of worship and ready to celebrate the wedding of my nephew Ryan and Elyse. They have been engaged for over a year and I am so happy my Mom had the opportunity to get to know Elyse. I know that means a lot to Ryan and Elyse also. Family is very important to them and you could feel that throughout the wedding.

One of the first things I noticed when I walked into the reception area was the wedding picture of David and Tracy (Ryan’s Dad and my brother) on one of the tables. There were pictures of their parents and grandparents as part of the center piece of each table, those that did not have a picture had an “M” cut out in maple wood. There were also orange and yellow tulips as well as tangerines at each table. The wedding was so beautiful and the feeling of family was everywhere.

The wedding ceremony itself was very touching. One of the parts that stuck with me was when the pastor talked about how sacred marriage is and how the Devil will try and destroy it, so we have to have our foundation in Christ to be able to withstand the storms that are sure to come. The “hard” times are different for each couple, but I know infertility is definitely one of those storms. I remember when my father-in-law told me that the divorce rates for couples who undergo IVF are high, and I have also heard that the rates are high for couples who have multiples, therefore, Brian and I have many things going against us. I am sure I could list more and more. But like most things in life, we all have a choice, are we going to fight or flee? I choose to fight for children, for my marriage or anything else that is of God. I know without God I would not have the energy to “fight,” so I say to those of you facing a new marriage or struggling with infertility, put on the Armor of God and get to work. Marriage and children are not for slackers!

Ephesians 6:10-18 (New International Version, ©2011)

The Armor of God

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.

One thought on “PUTTING ON YOUR ARMOR

  1. Thank you for the words of encouragement. It is awesome how God knows what we need and when we need it. I was checking emails and your blog was up on my list. I’ve been having arough couple of days and that message was what I needed.

Leave a Reply

