DEFINING A MOTHER

I was surprised on this trip how much I missed my Mom. When traveling for the NEDC, I would always call my Mom and tell her I had safely arrived at my destination. With the heightened security alert, I was more aware of my surroundings and was sure this would have been a time that my Mother would have been concerned about my safety. The Bible tells us that when God closes one door he opens another, so it was Patty who told me to make sure and call her when I safely arrived back home in Knoxville.

Mothers are very special people who do not always have to be your biological or even a live-in parent to hold the place of “Mother” in our heart. I am blessed to say that I have had many “Mothers” in my life. My neighbor growing up, Mary, has always taken me in and mothered me when my father was sick with cancer and after he died when I was six. Then my Aunt Nancy was also a special woman in my life who often took care of me on weekends when my Mother worked as a nurse in CCU. My sister, being several years older, also mothered me quite a bit. I am happy to say that Natalie and Julian have many special women in their lives as well. I am sure as they get older many other women will surface who will teach them so much as well. God did not intend for us to parent alone and I am happy to report that I am not alone in parenting my twins.

Patty and I went shopping and out to eat and had a delightful time talking about our children! We did talk about other things as well, but mostly the children! We had such a wonderful time, we hated to say goodbye. We are blessed to have each other and I know God has given me such a beautiful gift, not only my children, but their whole family.

When I was at the conference, I told a few people about my own story and one lady told me that mine and Patty’s story is so wonderful that I need to keep on telling it! Adoption is a beautiful thing and more people need to know how wonderful open relationships can be. The conference was a great success and so many people had never heard of embryo donation/adoption that I know the NEDC made a great impact. They were so thankful we were there and that such an option exists.

There are so many women that are “Mothers” that do not match the traditional definition of motherhood and I want to thank them all! Today I want to challenge you to tell someone thank you who was or is like a mother to you, then think about all the people who you may be like a mother to as well. Giving birth does not make you a mother nor does rearing a child in your home. What makes you a mother is the love you give a child. Thank you to all the women in my life who have shown me and taught me what love really means.

Leave a Reply

