SIGNS OF THE CHANGING TIMES

Today was a day full of surprises, fortunately all good. As the school year quickly draws to an end, I’m once again reminded that as the seasons change, so do my children, and how this will impact my life.

The principal at the elementary school that Joel and Chad attend had announced his retirement at the end of the school year. This announcement was made a few months back, so the initial shock has worn off, but I’ve often wondered how this will impact Chad’s experience attending this school. Next year Joel will be in his first year of middle school, which I know will have a big impact on all our lives. Today we attended a surprise breakfast in honor of the principal, and I think this made it more of a reality for some of the students, especially the younger ones. Oftentimes those in the younger grades don’t realize how life will impact them from one year to the next as events unfold in the facility members’ lives, such as marriages, births, etc.

I’ve been busy organizing the class end of the year present for both boys grades, and had had a little trouble coming up with ideas for one of the teachers. I talked with one of her co-workers at the breakfast this morning, and she was able to help me come up with some ideas. After we left the school, I decided I would pick up a few items we are gathering for the gift, so Chad and I set off to Kohl’s to pick up those items. When I returned home, the answering machine light was flashing, and there was a pleasant surprise waiting for me. My best friend Tracey had called me to see if I was available to get together today. I have lost touch with her over the course of the last ten years, because during this time period so much had happened in our lives. We did keep in touch, but not like before. We would go years at times between visits or phone calls. It was during this time period that I was dealing with infertility, but the real cause of our relationship becoming distant was my losing multiple pregnancies. Instead of turning to friends for support, I withdrew for a period of a couple of years, and as time passed, everyone else went on with their lives while mine seemed to be at a standstill.

Tracey is a few years older than I am, and her two boys are the ages of my nieces. During this time period that I was having such a difficult time, her life wasn’t exactly a picnic either as I now see being the mother of a teenager can be trying to say the least. There are now a whole new set of worries that you must deal with, the worst part of this being that most of them are beyond your control. For instance, the influence of friends in their lives becomes a huge factor. I am only now starting to understand some of the things she was dealing with.

We met for lunch, and although it was only an hour, we were able to catch up on the latest happenings with our families. The best part about seeing her was realizing that although a lot of time has passed since I’d last seen or spoken to her, we were able to pick up were we left off, just like it was yesterday. Although the passing of times brings lots of changes to your life, it is nice to know that some things never change.

Leave a Reply

