KEEPING FAITH

The twins and I just got back from Kingsport, Tennessee to help my friend Katina unpack from her move from Missouri. I think I may have done more damage than good. I managed to break one item, find two other broken items (one may have been from one of the twins), lose two shower hooks and give her a stress attack from the twins’ falls!

The twins had a wonderful time and did not want to go back home. They loved playing with her two girls, ages 10 & 5. Natalie enjoyed running around the house chasing them as well as the cat. It was a delightful time even though we were hard at work.

Katina and I have been friends since 1999 when we met on the job. She was also married in 1998, so we were both newlyweds. The four of us would often go to dinner and a movie over the course of many years. We have stayed close friends with all our moves and I am thrilled to have her and her family back in Tennessee especially after all the tornadoes in Missouri.

I have been watching the news, like I am sure many of you have as well. One news report that has stuck with me is when a father and son were traveling back home after the son’s graduation and the tornado swept up the car and took the son out of the sun roof while the dad was holding on to him. The father was found in a ditch, and transferred to a hospital, while the family was still looking for the son. Wow! What pain and suffering so many people are enduring, it is just mindboggling.

Some people find it helpful knowing that other people have experienced the same type of suffering and find comfort in knowing they are not alone. I remember the first time I went to an infertility support meeting after my surgery, when my tubes were removed, and I was overwhelmed with how many infertile women there were and all the mental pain. I was still healing from surgery, and so I was in shock that I was now infertile and felt such pain as well. But when I looked around the room, it made me sadder, knowing there were other people in such pain. I did not want anyone to have to endure such pain. It did not make me feel better knowing others were suffering like me, but at the time it made me hurt worse, since I was hurting for them as well as myself. I just have to wonder if that is what the tornado victims are going through.

Now that I am stronger, I do not hurt as bad for the infertile people that I see in the meetings. I still feel their pain, but now I know something that I did not know at the time. God’s plan is always perfect even if you are in such pain. If you just give it to Him, He will make it beautiful. Knowing He has a master plan and knowing it is to better you and not to harm you (Jeremiah 29:11) requires faith. Be strong in the word and God will give you the faith you need.

The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed, Psalm 34:18 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

