A SHORT HOMECOMING

I managed to make it home last night for the first time since I left Monday morning. It was nice to be home, even if it was for only 12 hours. I made it in time to go to Music Together with Grant and Maria, which was my goal. When I arrived home, Maria was beside herself. She reached out, started crying and clung to me for dear life. I tried to put her down so I could go to the bathroom, but she came running after me and sat on my lap while I emptied my bladder; that is something only a mother would allow! Grant looked at me as if I was some sort of mirage for a few minutes. Once he realized it was really me, he gave me his best ladies’ man smile.

Both kids looked taller and Grant’s hair was noticeably longer. They both stuck pretty close to me during music and bedtime did take longer than normal, with an added wake-up an hour later. This morning I debated on going into their room or just leaving but I just couldn’t leave for another night and not lay my eyes on them. The door opening didn’t wake either one and I watched each sleep for a couple minutes and covered them up. But as I turned to leave their room, Maria popped up and asked to be held. I couldn’t deny her request. She nursed and rocked for few minutes and I just as I was getting ready to put her down, the furnace kicked on and Grant popped awake. Both took about 15 minutes to settle down, but it was nice to get some extra cuddle time with them.

My western Kentucky odyssey continues and I should make it home tomorrow night for two nights. Jeremy is managing well with some extra help from the Grands. I’m expecting that when this is all over, I will have two very clingy kiddos for some time. I’m looking forward to it.

One thought on “A SHORT HOMECOMING

  1. They are doing wonderfully well, I have very much enjoyed the extra grandma time with them this week and am happy at the prospect of some more extra time next week. Even if you can’t be with them, I hope you are comforted in knowing they are being cared for by the people who love them with all our hearts.

Leave a Reply

