TRAINING WHEELS

Last week we got the book “Training Wheels” in the mail, a book about embryo adoption. The twins were very excited to get a book in the mail so we sat down to read it. As I read it, I also related their story to it as we went through the book. I explained how the different characters in the book were also like, Mommy, Daddy, them and Patty and Jim Cassidy. After I finished reading the book I asked Julian what he thought about it and he replied, “I want to go back to Disney World and see the Cassidy family!” I decided I like how he thinks!

Last year at this time we were getting ready to go to Disney World and we wish that was the case this year too! But we are looking forward to seeing the Cassidy family this summer. Plans have not been completely made, but we do plan on seeing each other one way or another. The twins are talking so much more now and just say the cutest things.

Just this morning Natalie was praying before breakfast and while she was doing that Julian was reaching for money on the bar. When she got done she told Julian that he was not “being sensible.” That he needed to have his hands folded. She also told him today to stop pooping in his pants that she did not want to change poop anymore! He did not poop in his pants at that time, but later he did. Natalie knows him well. Just got to love her! Julian is very close to being potty trained and we are very proud of him and hope that it continues. Maybe by the time we see the Cassidy family this summer we will be able to celebrate being potty trained as well as all the wonderful changes in the twins this past year.

3 thoughts on “TRAINING WHEELS

  1. I always enjoy reading your posts and everyone else’s that is involved in the blog. I wanted to get your opinion…I am a mom who donated our embryos. we are very close to the family and we have seen our “embryo” that we donated when she was 3 months old and again just a few months ago.(she is now 4 years old and our twins are 6 years old). I ordered the Training Wheels book in hopes that this could be a good book to help our twins understand what we did and why we did it and who this special friend and special family really is to them. Unfortunately I was disappointed in the ending of the book when the boy asks his mom “is Mike my brother” and the mom says “no, more like a special friend.” to me this is not truthful and more confusing to the children and they should know the truth and I was really hoping to get a book that could help explain all of this to our twins instead, I am back to how do we explain this to our twins like I was before I got the book. What are your thoughts on this and did you go any further in telling your twins about who the Cassidy’s are besides the books way of saying “special friend”?

  2. Pingback: A GOOD QUESTION « The NEDC Blog

Leave a Reply

