BABY SHOWER

Four years ago today, I was on bed rest and praying that the twins would not be born yet. Everyone was getting ready for my baby shower that was at my house since I could not leave. After church people piled into my house to celebrate the coming of the twins, we just did not know how soon that would be. I was in so much pain I just did not know how I was going to get through the day, I just prayed to God that the babies would not come that day. But I did not know how much longer I could go on; little did I know that I had preeclampsia.

Two years today, the twins were sleeping peacefully in their beds, when I got the phone call from my Uncle that my Mother was going to be leaving this earth very soon and that I needed to get to the hospital. My neighbor came over to stay with the twins and I rushed to the hospital. I got to the hospital on a prayer, since my car was out of gas. I once again prayed to God that I would get to the hospital before my Mother’s passing. That prayer was not answered, by the time I got there, my Mother had gone to meet Jesus. One year ago today, my husband sent me flowers for the first time. It was very special since it was such a hard day and he had such kind words to say on the card. Positive things can come out of very hurtful situations and my husband’s act of kindness on that day proved that to me.

Why some prayers are answered and some are not, I do not know, but I am thankful that God is faithful and true. The same day had many different emotions for me years apart. Today, I choose to remember how excited my Mother was to finally attend a baby shower for me and that God had gotten us this far. She was so excited to meet the twins and spent many hours loving on them for almost two years. I may have sadness thinking about losing my Mother two years ago today, but she had immeasurable joy when she came face to face with our Lord and also got to see all her grandchildren that went before her. Now all my other children are being loved on by her.

Leave a Reply

