THINGS FOR WHICH I’M THANKFUL

Through the month of November, you can see many people post something for which they are thankful each day on facebook. I enjoy these posts, and while I haven’t posted something each day, I’d like to take time to reflect on all that has been given to me. Here are a few things that I am giving thanks to this year:
• God. Without my faith in Him and bigger plans, I would have gone crazy years ago. I’m thankful that He gave me the strength to give up control and trust in Him.
• Infertility. Yes, I said it. I’m thankful for that season of my life. I’m thankful that we overcame it, but I’m thankful that I experienced it. I never thought I would say that. It nearly broke me, but in brokenness, I found strength. I found strength and courage that would lead me to a deeper understanding of life and lead me to my amazing children.
• I’m thankful that I get to share our story. I’ve had several people tell me that Grant and Maria have given them hope that one day their dream of having children will be realized.
• I’m thankful that I have a husband who takes amazing care of us. He cooks, cleans, does laundry and, most of all, he loves the three of us unconditionally. I’m thankful that he’s man enough to do what he does.
• I’m thankful for a supportive family and the help they provide in raising Grant and Maria. I’m thankful that they have two sets of Grandparents who would walk on water for them.
• I’m thankful for the fact that I have a good job that provides for our family and allows flexibility when I need it. (Having a boss with twin granddaughters doesn’t hurt!)
• I’m thankful for the network of embryo adoptive families and hopeful families that I have found. We share a bond that only we can understand of being both birth and adoptive parents. Being able to bounce questions and struggles off them is a wonderful gift.
Thank you to all those who have helped us along the way – NEDC, Bethany Christian Services, Adoption Assistance and all my prayer warriors. They say it takes a village to raise a family…sometimes it takes a village to create one.

Leave a Reply

