I REALIZE I’M A PARENT WHEN….

It is not uncommon for Jeremy and me to have moments where we’re struck by the realization that we really are parents. It’s those things that we do or say that harkens me back to things my parents would do or say. Not that the daily dose of dirty diapers isn’t a reminder, but that’s an obvious one. Our first realization was on the way home from the hospital when Grant sneezed and Jeremy and I looked at each other and couldn’t believe they actually let us take them home. We’ve had many others over the last 2 ½ years.
I realize that I’m a parent when I pick my kid’s nose without a second thought.
I realize I’m a parent when I say things like “don’t run with that; you’ll put your eye out,” “eat your food – there are starving kids in Africa,” “don’t wear your hat at the dinner table,” “don’t pick your nose,” quickly followed by “don’t eat your boogers.”
I realize I’m a parent when I nearly break my ankle on a toy.
I realize I’m a parent when I use bribery a reward with an M&M or episode of “Dora the Explorer” to illicit desired behavior.
I realize I’m a parent when it takes every bit of self-control not to throttle my child who is throwing a tantrum, but would cause serious bodily injury or death to anyone who dared to hurt them.
I realize I’m a parent when I hear a kid’s Wee Squeak shoes in a restaurant and am not bugged by it. Rather, I’m fondly thinking of Maria’s shoes.
I realize I’m a parent when I dream/hope/beg of a trip to the bathroom without an audience.
I realize I’m a parent with I threaten to pull the car over if the whining doesn’t cease.
I realize I’m a parent I fall asleep at 9:30 every night….wait never mind, I’ve always done that.

Leave a Reply

