Brae’s 4 year stats, and some -isms

Photobucket







Brae’s 4 year stats:

1) He weights 37 lbs; 8 oz. 60th percentile.

2) He is 3 feet, 4 3/4 inches tall. 50th percentile.

Both of these are shifts for him. He’s always, up to this point, been below 50% for weight, and above 70% for height. Guess he’s evening out!

3) Doctor said that he is physically developing on track. He did give me some pointers on getting him to eat better at home. We tried one last night, which included he has to eat what the family eats for dinner, and has to sit at the table with us. When he cried and refused, we just put the dinner on the table, and he eventually came over and ate it.

4) Doctor said he was very impresed at how smart he is, and that he is intellectually ahead of the curve. (Warmed the cockles of my heart).

And with that, here are some frequently confounding, but always amusing, Brae-isms:

In the car, after just picking Brae up from preschool, he announced: “Mommy, my friend Captain bonked his head on a chair today at escuela (school).”

“Ouch,” I said. “Is Captain okay? Was he hurt?”

“No,” Brae said, matter-of-factly. “But the chair sure was hurt.”
***

A couple weeks ago, I stayed home from work with Brae because he was sick. He’d been throwing up frequently. Finally, at the end of the 2-day stint, I put him in the stroller and we went for a nice brisk walk. It was a beautiful fall afternoon, and I was feeling particularly affectionate toward my little boy, so sickened by this little bug.

“Brae,” I said, “I love you,” as I pushed him in the stroller.

Silence.

“Brae, did you hear me? I said I love you.”

More silence.

Different tact. “Brae, do you love Mommy? Can you say, ‘I love you, too’?”

At that, he spoke. “No, Mommy. I can’t say that. If I said that, it would make me sick again.”

***

While watching football on TV the other night, Brae asked, “Mommy, why do all the football players line up to scratch the grass?”

***

Brae’s preschool was closed a couple weeks ago in observance of Veteran’s Day. So, he and Sienna were with my parents. Apparently, during a conversation with Brae’s grandma about why Mommy and Daddy have to work, Brae commented: “I know that both Mommy and Daddy work. But only Daddy makes money. Mommy just rides a bus.”

Love you, Brae. Thanks for always keeping me laughing.

braefall2012

Leave a Reply

