Hello 2013!

I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for 2013. 2012 has been somewhat of a trying year. I spent a good part of January away from home in a hotel in Central City, KY. While I enjoy my work and the people I work with, there’s a lot to be said about sleeping in your own bed and being with family.

In April we listed our house and while we had two offers in the first week, we spent the next 105 days under contract and in limbo. During our time under contract I had an emergency appendectomy and two weeks later Grant got eight stitches next to his eye after a fall off the bed (along with our lamp).

I spent another week out of town in July and we finally moved in August. We have spent the last bit of the year settling in and updating as we can afford it, which right now only means the kitchen floor and fresh paint on the kitchen walls and cabinets. We really love having more space and enjoy the quiet of our new neighborhood and two playgrounds in short walking distance.

December was met with the news of the horrific shooting in Connecticut where 20 first graders experienced a tragic death. I didn’t sleep for days and still try not to watch the news coverage of the story because it makes me sick to my stomach. When Grant had the stomach bug the next week, it was tough, but I was thankful to be cleaning up vomit versus what those families were experiencing.

We had a good Christmas with family and while it was completely chaotic with four kids 3 and under with my side of the family, it was a lot of fun seeing Christmas through their eyes. I’m not sure if there is a way to make Christmas with this age kids any less chaotic.

We’re rounding out the year with a very expensive car repair due to a blown gasket on my car, but I’m thankful that I was on vacation and didn’t have to worry about getting to and from work. While 2012 wasn’t a bad year all around, it has had its trying moments and I’m looking forward to 2013.

God only knows what’s in store for us. I just pray that He gives us the strength, wisdom and endurance to meet any of its challenges with the proper perspective.

Wishing you and yours a very happy new year!

Leave a Reply

