TRUE CONFESSIONS

When leaving church recently, there was a little girl and her mom having a bit of a power struggle in the hallway.  The girl looked to be about three and was screaming “I don’t want to!!!!” while she pulled against her mother’s hand.  I smiled as I passed by knowing exactly how that mom felt – frustrated and maybe embarrassed and tired.  When Jeremy picked the kids and me up at the curb, he mentioned the scene as well and said he had the same reaction.

Three years ago I know I wouldn’t have had the same reaction.  Three years into this parenting gig and I’ve definitely been humbled.  Three years into this and when I hear someone say “my kid won’t ever act like that”, I think to myself…just you wait and see.  Three years into this when I hear a parent say “my kid never throws tantrums” I think to myself…you must be lying.  Three years into it and I’ve had to learn that every child is different and there is no one-size fits all approach to parenting.

I’ve come to love honest parenting blogs…the ones where they talk about the fact that kids make you nuts and that sometimes just taking a shower is an achievement.  I have a general disdain for those who portray a perfect parenting picture….you know who I’m talking about.  These are the ones who will never discuss the trials and only post the good stuff.  Don’t get me wrong, there is good stuff.  But, there are some days when my glass of wine is screaming for me, but my child is screaming louder.  There are days when I think there must be some underground network that toddlers have to discuss bedtime stall tactics.  There are some days when I just can’t answer another “why” question. There are days when I think to myself, “I would walk through fire to save you from harm but if you do that one more time I’m going to hang you by your toe nails.”   There are days when I want to pop the eyes out of the person who says “just enjoy it…it goes so fast.”  Some moments are just not enjoyable or pretty.  Sometimes the only things you can do are laugh and have a second glass of wine.

Leave a Reply

