Transitions

We FINALLY did it.  We transitioned the kids from their cribs to their toddler beds.  I think we pushed it further than most, but why mess with a good thing?  Even though they could climb out, they didn’t and there is something nice about knowing they will be where you left them.   All good things must come to an end, though.

When the time came, I explained to both what a big responsibility this is and that they still have to stay in their beds until Mommy or Daddy come to get them.  They nodded yes with excitement and I proceeded to take the side rails off their beds.  They were more than excited and proceeded to play in their beds for the next hour.  At one point in time, Grant looked at me and told me that I needed to leave and shut the door so he could get some rest.  I obeyed and after shutting the door, I heard it lock.  I feared more shenanigans.  Our conversation about responsibility now included not locking the door.

First bedtime went remarkably well, however, at 1:30 in the morning, I heard the following things:

A thud

A cat attempting to get purchase on the wood floor

Maria crying

Jeremy bounding up the steps from the basement

Yes, she flopped herself right out.  Honestly we weren’t surprised, considering she is never sleeping in a conventional manner and flops around like a fish.  Thankfully, she only had about a foot to fall, so no injuries were sustained and the cat eventually recovered from her fright of things that go thump in the night.

Jeremy said Grant rolled out later that night, but I didn’t hear it, so it must not have been as eventful.  We have now invested in mesh side rails to help prevent and will be useful when they go to their next “big kid” beds, which I imagine will be sooner than later.

They are taking their responsibility quite well and might be motivated by getting a Glow Pet at the end of this first week if they continue to do well.  Grant told me “I need a Glow Pet so I won’t be afraid of the dark.”  Never mind the two night lights illuminating their room.

This seems like one of the last true transitions from babyhood.  Hard to believe they will be four in less than 6 months.  Hopefully, Grant will have discovered an interest in potty training by then!

Leave a Reply

