RESOLVED

Image

This time of year you hear about New Year’s Resolutions.  We all make them, we all break them.  I too, have been thinking about what I would like to do differently in the New Year.  But, instead of setting unrealistic goals that I know I won’t keep, I am trying to incorporate some habits, for the better, into my everyday life.  For the long term.  Here are a few:

Health-I will probably never be considered skinny again-haven’t been since college.  I don’t want to be overweight again either.  Instead of setting unattainable goals of weight loss, that I know I won’t maintain, I am trying to make changes to diet and exercise daily at realistic levels (for me).

Time Management-I tend to drag about 5-10 minutes late every where I go.  And, I hate it!  With a combination of OCD and ADD, mixed in my personality, there is always “one more thing” I need to do before leaving the house.  To combat this, I am trying to have everything laid out the day before I go anywhere.  Diaper bag stocked.  Check.  Clothes out and ironed.  Check.  Then it never fails.  Where’s those darn keys?  And Wubbie?  Where’s that pacifier?  I just have to start getting ready 30 minutes ahead, every time, to get there on time.

Organization-Since John Luke was born, I have been trying to clean out clutter and simplify.  I am finding the more stuff you have, the more stuff you have to manage.  I love clothes, I love to shop, let’s face it, I love stuff!  With a toddler in tow, there isn’t as much time for all the nonessentials.  I have been organizing and getting rid of things that cause more stress to keep up with, than it does adding value to daily life.

We are all trying to improve, better our self, and grow from our experiences.  If you’re not, well, I guess you know everything there is to know, and have quit trying to learn.  I am resolved to make smarter choices about how I manage my time, organization, and health.

Leave a Reply

