LAB WORK AND ULTRASOUND

Image

I had my appointment for lab work and an ultrasound this week at the NEDC. To my relief, everything went well, and I was given the approval to start the Estrace. There was just one embarrassing little hiccup that happened. I showed up a day early.

To be honest, I almost don’t want to post this, but when I signed up to do this blog, I told myself some things would be painful, like exposing my raw emotions about infertility. Blogging would also reveal vulnerabilities in me, I often wouldn’t like to admit. However, I believe, if we admit our flaws, it makes other people realize they too are okay, imperfections and all.

So having said that, I excitedly arrive at the NEDC at 7:55 AM to my 8:00 AM appointment and sign in, only to have the receptionist inform me, they had me scheduled for the next day, the 21st. I knew my appointment was on the 21st, but where I miscalculated, I had in my mind the 21st was on Thursday- not Friday.

My mom and I had arranged the week before to meet in Knoxville for dinner on the eve of my appointment. We would spend the night, then she would watch John Luke the next morning, while I had my check up. After glancing at the calendar previously, I had thought the 21st was on Thursday, and didn’t think about it any further. We had made our plans and that was that.

Easy mistake right? Except, this was an extremely critical appointment. Fortunately, the NEDC was very accommodating and worked me in on the 20th. I truly believe things happen for a reason. On the 21st, the day of my original appointment, I woke up having a sinus infection with nausea and vomiting. I was sick in bed for two days. Traveling would have been extremely difficult, especially with a toddler. It was not an appointment I could have rescheduled until Monday, given the time sensitivity of the protocol.

The take away – I need to check and re-check my schedule. Luckily, it worked out for me this time. Next time, I might not be so lucky. I laughed it off saying, “I’d rather be a day early than a day late.” I try to be an optimist and learn from each experience.

Leave a Reply

