The Invitation.

Photobucket

The wedding invitation is in the mail to us.

It is from our birthmother. She is inviting us to her wedding.

I just cannot get over how cool it is to have this special relationship with the woman who bore my son.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. Open adoption – in all its forms – is an invitation. It’s a gift. The opportunity to have a tangible relationship with the woman (and man) who helped breathe life into our son is beyond humbling.

Apart from its metaphysical beauty, it also has incredible application. Case in point: Sienna has been getting strange blotchy spots on her face and has had a cough for a while. I reached out to our donor family and they told me of the family history of eczema, allergies, and asthma. Armed with this information, I knew what medical course of action to take, and Sienna is healing.

I feel so blessed at the way God has created our family.

And, just because it’s been a while, here are some recent (cute) pictures of the Colton kids, introducing the newest member in his/her photographic debut:

Britney

Leave a Reply

