ANATOMY SCAN and FINAL POST

Image

Josh and I went for my Anatomy Scan this week at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville.  Not only would we confirm the gender, but see if both babies are developing normally.  I was 19 weeks on the day of the appointment, half-way through my pregnancy.  They determined my due date to be January 31st, 2015.

We are happy to announce we are having a BOY and a GIRL!!  To add to our excitement and relief both babies appear perfectly healthy.  Baby A is a boy weighing 9 oz, and Baby B is a girl weighing 10 oz.  Both heartbeats were within normal range.

Although there are no guarantees until both arrive healthy and in our arms, we were relieved to get this scan behind us.  With four months or less until their arrival, there is much to be done.  We are trying to transition John Luke from his crib to a toddler bed, and need to soon start potty training.

With a girl/boy combo we will have to update the nursery to make it more gender neutral.  Also, we plan to turn our formal dining room into a playroom.  It’s right off the kitchen and den making it the best location for me to keep an eye on them while preparing meals and working around the house.

Since we will put the twins in what is now John Luke’s nursery, we’ve decided to put his room upstairs.  The plan originally was for him to sleep with us, but since neither of us can sleep with him in the bed (he’s a kickboxer), we will see how he does in a room by himself.  I’m sure, like getting him to sleep through the night, this will be a battle.

Which leads me to my next point: it is bittersweet for me, but this will be my last post.  I need to prepare for the busy months ahead and free some things from my schedule for after the twins arrive.  I have enjoyed sharing my story, and getting to know some of you who have written in (most notably Sarah Mann Herndon, a new blogger for NEDC).

Sarah contacted me through the blogs and we became fast friends.  We have had so much in common from our infertility stories to the effects of the medicines, our expectations about upcoming transfers, how we will tell our children they are embryo adopted, etc.

It is with some sadness I am saying goodbye, but I know I’m passing on the torch to someone who will connect with women, on many levels, who are struggling with infertility.  Her passion about embryo adoption and the stories she has shared with me already- will enlighten you and encourage you.  You will read her blogs feeling like you’ve met a new friend and confidante.  Just as I have.

If you are still on your infertility journey- The best advice I can leave you with is simple.  Never ever give up on your dream for a child and always, always persevere.  You too have a story.  It’s just waiting to be told.

“When the world says, “Give up,” Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.”  Author Unknown

 photo“Where hope would otherwise become hopelessness, it becomes faith”  Author Robert Brault

3 thoughts on “ANATOMY SCAN and FINAL POST

  1. You have encouraged me so much and I pray for you and your twins as you approach the time of their arrival, I know you are so busy, but would you consider posting a follow-up report or two about the third trimester, birth, and early newborn days? Whenever you’re able. We want to rejoice with you and sympathize with the challenges!

Leave a Reply

