Home Schooling Observations

We’ve been doing our home school pre-K curriculum for about 6 weeks now. It is going better than I could have imagined. Jeremy has embraced the extra workload and is supplementing lessons and adjusting methods as they go. Grant and Maria are excited about their learning and are often eager to tell me about something they are learning about.

Grant is a better student that I would have guessed. I’ve worried about him because he often can’t focus, but he’s been an absolute sponge. He was drawing a solar system in the driveway the other night and excitedly told my mom about the planets and how they orbit around sun. He looked at me last night and said, “You hear that water going down the drain? I used my sense of hearing.”

Maria gets more frustrated with some of her lessons. She wants to be right all the time and says things like “I can’t know how!” when she gets stuck. However, her handwriting is improving and she likes to make sure her lessons are completed. She went to the dining room on her own and finished her number coloring pages last night. I think she might end up as an artistic numbers person.

Both are making big strides on their speech patterns and vocabulary. They are pointing out letters on signs and store fronts when we are driving, counting everything they can and overall seem to be soaking up what we’re doing.

Jeremy had them listen for their vocabulary works during their story yesterday. He said that they identified all 10 of them and when they finished Grant declared “Oh man, those vocab words came faster than I was expecting.”

Leave a Reply

